Reviews

Pride of Maui Earns 2016 Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence

Pride of Maui is one of Maui’s most respected boat tour companies with nearly 40 years of expertise in the Hawaiian Islands.

Maalaea Harbor, Maui, Hawaii
May 25, 2016

Pride of Maui, one of the island’s most popular and established boat tour companies, with nearly 40 years experience, today announced that it has received a TripAdvisor® Certificate of Excellence. Now in its sixth year, the achievement celebrates hospitality businesses that have earned great traveller reviews on TripAdvisor over the past year. Certificate of Excellence recipients include accommodations, eateries and attractions located all over the world that have continually delivered a quality customer experience. As our name implies, we are proud to be recognized for providing exceptional service to our guests. Our primary focus is the “Guest Experience”, in our pursuit to be the highlight of your vacation memories. "With the Certificate of Excellence, TripAdvisor honors hospitality businesses that have consistently received strong praise and ratings from travelers,” said Heather Leisman, Vice President of Industry Marketing, TripAdvisor. “This recognition helps travelers identify and book properties that regularly deliver great service. TripAdvisor is proud to play this integral role in helping travelers feel more confident in their booking decisions.” The Certificate of Excellence accounts for the quality, in their booking decisions.” The Certificate of Excellence accounts for the quality, quantity and recency of reviews submitted by travelers on TripAdvisor over a 12-month period. To qualify, a business must maintain an overall TripAdvisor bubble rating of at least four out of five, have a minimum number of reviews and must have been listed on TripAdvisor for at least 12 months.

“Molokini crater and turtle town”

Reviewed Jul 17, 2016

This was a great tour we booked because it had something everyone in our group of six. They offered scuba, snuba, and snorkeling. Two of us went diving while the others and the baby snorkeled and swam. They had a slide off the bow of the boat which everyone seem to enjoy. The food was good with a selection that seemed to please everyone in our group. All the staff seemed to genuinely enjoy their job.

Susan McDuffie, Charleston, SC

Turtle

“Great experience”

Reviewed Jul 11, 2016

My boyfriend and I visited Maui for the first time this past week, we booked the snorkeling and Snuba diving with the Pride of Maui. As soon as we checked in and onto the boat they served a continental breakfast. It took us about an hour to reach our first destination which was the Molokini crater. My boyfriend and I had signed up for Snuba diving which we were going to do at the crater however, due to weather conditions we were not able to. After that they took us to another destination where we once again attempted to Snuba dive. This was my first time Snuba diving and to be honest I was somewhat scared. However, JUSTIN, who is in charge of the Snuba diving, was AMAZING! At this second location we were not able to Snuba either due to weather. Although, we tried to you could not see anything or anyone around us so Justin made the decision to bring us back in and call it a day. You could tell he really wanted us to have the best experience ever and to have fun but the weather was just not in his favor. They took us to one more destination where we were finally able to Snuba dive! At this point I wasn’t as scared but I was still a little hesitant. Once in the water my boyfriend and I attempted to Snuba. Justin was really awesome and so patient with me. He helped me get over my fear and made us feel really comfortable. My boyfriend and I had an amazing experience! Thank you Justin and the whole staff on Pride of Maui we are truly looking forward to coming back! 

Alex Andracev, Corona, CA

“Great experience again!”

Reviewed Mar 28, 2016

We have been on The Pride last year on another tour and wanted to try the snorkeling tour. What a great trip. Staff is amazing. Not just some staff but all of the staff. They all act like they want to be there! Good food, great boat, good snorkeling. You won’t regret going on the pride. Front of the boat has a slide and a dive platform. When you are tired of snorkeling use both and have some fun!

DJ Wells, Folsom, CA

“Whale watching & snorkeling”

Reviewed Jan 29, 2016

This trip was amazing. So many whales & even saw a calf doing a half breach. One female was being followed by several males & they circled the boat; so got real close. Lunch was very good. Did not snorkel but enjoyed watching everyone. 
Best value compared to other companies.

Ally May, Surprise, AZ

Reviewed Jan 09, 2016

Fantastic trip! If you’re looking for a personal experience with a big-boat feel, look no further! Got to see tons of fish, 2 turtles, and some beautiful coral reefs! Not to mention a frickin delicious BBQ lunch 🙂 10/10 would recommend to any Maui-goer with a sense of adventure and fun

Patrick E., Cambridge, MA

“Snorkel Whale Watch”

Reviewed Jan 25, 2016

This is the second time we have taken this trip. It’s about 3 1/2 hour boat ride. The boat stops for about an hour for snorkeling. We go for the whale watching. Today was out standing for watching whale we saw several whales up close. Numerous breaches and tails. 
Lunch is provided along w beer and wine. The team is great with all guest. We plan a second trip before we leave.
This is a great value most sunset cruises are hour and 1/2 in length and double in price.

Peggy Neely, Phoenix, AZ

Turtle

“Great afternoon, Great value”

Mar 30, 2015

We took their 2.5 hour afternoon whale watching tour. They took great care of all the passengers, food was wonderful. Would definitely recommend this crew.

EMK809, Phoenix, AZ

Turtle

“Great Whale Watching! Accommodating Crew!”

Reviewed Jan 24, 2016

Having a friend with walking issues we needed to go on a larger boat! The Pride of Maui fit the bill. We signed up for the next day’s trip on line! The confirmation gave excellent directions to their docking point on Maalea Harbor. We were allowed to park near the dock and after an efficient check in and safety talk by Captain Matt we were all aboard. We had a small booking which allowed us to move around and take pictures with ease. We saw whales near and far. Several full and three quarter breaches and one saw close to the boat. Captain Matt gave interesting facts along the way. The crew Amy and Carlos were so helpful. Amy took a picture of our group and even helped our friend to walk to pose! The bar was open as we left the dock and remained open for soft drinks, beers and Other cocktails. Carlos cooked up burgers, hot dogs and chicken which were served buffet style with sides. I had the Maui special which was huge! After lunch he brought around macadamia nut cookies! There was a grass fire on shore and we had an unexpected view of tandem helicopters dipped water from the ocean and dropping it on the fire. This tour was a highlight of our trip.

Alice Turnee, Cherokee Village, AR

“Best way to start our vacation”

Reviewed Mar 06, 2016

We went on the 3 hour whale watch and snorkel cruise on Wed. March 2nd. Out captain and crew were super helpful and fun. The whale watching was incredible saw so many! And the snorkeling was perfect. They had a quick class which was awesome because my kids had never snorkeled before. Then they had a line of noodles strung on a rope between the ladders. So if you weren’t comfortable swimming you could hang on to the noodles and look down. This is where I taught both kids how to breathe and clear there masks. It was the perfect trip! Unlimited soda and water and adult beverages (after the snorkel) and lunch included. Just perfect! I would totally do it again if we had time!

Cary Martin, Sturdevant, WI

“Unforgettable Experience!!”

Reviewed Jan 03, 2016

Their service is excellent! All the staff were extremely friendly and caring. They want to make sure you’re comfortable and are having fun. Food was pretty good. Ship was in a good size so you won’t get sea sick.

The snorkeling trip was our best day on Maui.

JingJing Q, Boulder, CO

“Whales!!”

Reviewed Mar 18, 2016

My husband and I had the best time. The Captain and Staff were excellent. The Hamburger was excellent. The drinks were nice and strong (you can always ask for a light pour but never a heavy one…). The bathrooms were very clean. The site we snorkeled at had kind of standard fish. We saw lots of whales and 2 breached just off the bow. I would do this one again! If I had to make a complaint it would be how many kids were on the boat. We didn’t think to see if there were and adults only trips.

Kylla Serling, Phoenix, AZ

“Pride of Maui Whale Watching”

Reviewed Mar 19, 2016

In our opinion….The BEST Whale Watching Tour on Maui. 
We took the 1:30 p.m. Trip. What made this company the best, in our opinion?

CUSTOMER SERVICE EXCELLENCE ! The ship was larger than others which gave us better water stability on a fairly windy day. Included with our Whale Watching was lunch a great included with seconds made available. As well, the ship Captian gave great educational information about Whales and sea life all along the 2 hour tour. Also…the Captain moved frequently to get safely close to Whales and did not wait in one area hoping Whales would come to us. He was constantly searching…educating us..and helping us with personal needs and answering customer questions all along on tour.
Special and Personal care was given to handicapped persons on board. A very hard working staff meeting needs of customers.

Dave McNeely, Zeeland, MI

Turtle

“Great Trip Last Summer”

Reviewed Dec 31, 2015

Had an excellent trip last July. We went on the afternoon trip our last day. I had zero expectations as everything i read said the morning trip is the way to go. However, we lucked out and got to go out to Molokini, which i understand is very rare for an afternoon trip. 

Did i see anything that I didn’t see snorkeling near shore? No. But the water was peaceful (it was rough near shore on the south side then) and clear. The ride out and back was worth it for me. Looking forward to going out on the morning trip when I’m back in March weather and conditions permitting.

Jack Aljen, Seattle, WA

“Affordable, laid-back (in a good way) & accommodating”

Reviewed Jun 25, 2016

I loved it! We chose the afternoon turtle snorkel tour because it was unique to what most of the other tour companies were offering: long excursions at high prices.

We boarded at Maalaea harbor where a lot of other tours launch from. There was no announcement about where we were going or how many sites we would visit until we were approaching our first and only stop. My intention was just to be out on the water and snorkel a bit so I didn’t mind just being along for the ride, which was thankfully not crowded at all.

The staff was SO GREAT. They were very friendly and accommodating the entire way from hello to good-bye. Every time I turned around they were catering to someone – from checking on people’s safety in the water to offering you more to eat or drink on board. The food (hot dogs, hamburgers, veggie burgers, pasta salad, raw veggies) and drinks (local beers, tasty mai tais and cheap wine) were enjoyable and readily available AFTER the swimming was over.

Very highly recommended to people who want to take a trip on the water that feels safe and enjoyable but not have to pay as much or be out as long as the other tours. If you have a specific itinerary in mind, go elsewhere.

jennifromtheblock, Austin, TX

Reviewed Aug 13, 2016

Whales and sea turtles – awesome!

We took the pm whale watching and snorkel tour. We saw the first whale right after only 10 minutes. In total we saw 4. 

It was early in the season so this was ok (we saw a newborn, which was great). Afterwards we snorkeled at the coral gardens and saw plenty of fish and snorkeled along a great green sea turtle. It was so awesome! 

The snorkeling gear was provided by the company and it was really good! After the snorkeling we had burgers and salad (was not great but okay). There was an open bar and the beers and mai tais were delicious. The whole crew was awesome and so nice! 

Can totally recommend that cruise! We didn’t have to wait for the food, drinks or getting in the water at all. A big plus was that there weren’t so many people on the boat (around approx. 70).

Alina K., Hamburg, Germany

Turtle
Reviewed Aug 28, 2016

I never write reviews, but this time, I felt the need to give POM and the crew all the praise in the world for providing a fun, safe, and memorable experience. From the morning check-in, with coffee and breakfast, to the ride to Molokini (rent a go pro if you don’t have one!), to the variety of lunch options (vege-burgers also!), to making my girlfriend and I feel safe during our first Snuba experience (thank you JUSTIN! You helped the GF calm herself as she freaked out!),  to the open bar as our day ended. It was an incredible experience!

Patrick A., Dublin, CA

“Wonderful dinner cruise!! ”

Reviewed Jul 20, 2016

Had a great time on the dinner cruise!! My kids loved it and really enjoyed pretending there were pirate ships around. Had beautiful 360 degree views and the crew was awesome!! Romantic for couples and still very enjoyable for families!

LaShelle Cargil, Austin, TX

“Amazing Wedding on the Pride of Maui!!!”

Apr 29, 2015

We had our Wedding aboard the Pride Of Maui on January 26, 2015! It was an amazing experience! The staff were incredible, the decorations on the boat were amazing, the food and drinks spectacular! We had worked with Jaime (Senior Events Planner) for the last eight months to coordinate our wedding, with 62 guests. Jaime was detail oriented, and was able to help me with everything, including, bus transportation for our guests to and from the wedding, finding Ramone Mullen our lovely

Minister, and having Mitch Kepa as Musician for the night! Having our wedding on the Pride of Maui was the best decision we made, we did not stress the day of the wedding, as we were fully confident that every detail was already looked after, and it was!!! Thank-you Jaime, Phillip, and the rest of the hard working staff aboard the Pride of Maui!! You helped make our special day a very memorable one, that our guests and ourselves will always remember! Mahalo…

Penntrainer, Georgia

Reviewed Jun 01, 2016

We did the morning snorkeling tour to Molokini Crater and Turtle Town on our last day in Maui – what a great send off! 
Breakfast of muffins, fruit, coffee, juice, etc. was available when we got on the boat. We were able to sit on the top deck in front of the captains wheel for the hour trip out to Molokini. At the crater we saw so many fish before we were even off the boat. During the hour of snorkeling at Molokini, we saw eels, an octopus, hundreds of fish and beautiful coral. After the hour was up, we got back on the boat and were served burgers, sandwiches, pasta salad & veggies for lunch while we moved on to Turtle Town. At turtle town, a staff member sat on a paddle board and helped use find sea turtles in the water – we saw at least 5 or 6, including a group of 3 all hanging out together 🙂 A photographer was in the water taking pictures of us that we were able to purchase at the end of the trip. 

When we got back on the boat, we had full access to the open bar which included local beer and mai tai’s. 
The staff was all super friendly, engaging, and informative. I would highly recommend the trip, and it is definitely worth the time and money to do the longer morning trip to both locations!

Sarah B., Boston, MA

Reviewed Aug 05, 2016

This has to be the best tour on Maui I’ve ever even on! I decided to take my son and a few of his friends to celebrate his birthday. The kamaaina discount was a pleasant surprise. I called in my reservation and it was offered to me. 

The staff on board were knowledgeable, professional & friendly. They were accommodating and yet not over bearing. On board was a professional photographer that captured priceless photos! I was at ease with the entire trip and relaxed for 5 wonderful hours. 

Breakfast included sliced fruit, muffins and pound cake. A hit with the children! Drinks were included. Lunch was served after we left Molokini.  We had cheeseburgers, chicken sandwiches, hot dogs, pasta salad and cookies. 

The second portion of the trip was maybe the best for me. It was the calm area of Olowalu. The water was AMAZING!! Once the anchor dropped we were jumping in! The children over used that slide and we have awesome photos and videos. Super fun action shots! I lazily floated around while the children basically entertained themselves. By far the best party for my 11 year old so far.

I highly recommend this company and the Molokini/Turtle Town tour. I will definitely book with Pride of Maui again. 

Oh and bring cash if you want to buy the photo you take before you board. It’s $20 cash only.

Michele D., Wailuku, HI

“Turtles! And Mai Tais! And SNUBA, oh my!”

Reviewed Aug 16, 2016

I am so glad that during our holiday to Hawaii we took a morning on the Pride of Maui. We pre-booked our tickets and SNUBA adventure for the morning breakfast/lunch/snorkel cruise. We had an amazing time! The entire staff was so kind, attentive, and knowledgeable. We went with my older parents and the trip was great for all physical levels. They did not snorkel, but were still able to see the amazing sights such as the Mokoloni Crater and watch fish off the side of the boat. We opted to do the additional SNUBA and it was worth every penny! Definitely bring your GoPro! Our SNUBA instructor, Justin, was THE best. He made us feel at calm and like we were pros. The second stop on the tour was so cool. We saw so many sea turtles! AH! It was so fun! And then to top it all off–we get back on the boat and mai tais and local beer! It was the best day. So glad that we built this into our time in Maui. 

Definitely recommend! Just don’t forget your sunscreen–and bring the lotion kind! They don’t like you to use the spray on kind because of the wind!

Allison M, Fairmount, TX

Reviewed Apr 30, 2016

This review is for the sunset cruise. This evening my husband and I went on the Pride of Maui sunset cruise. We arrived at 4:15 pm. Andrea was setting up the check-in tables, and we were promptly checked in (after we signed a waiver). All of the passengers were gathering in the parking lot, Prior to boarding the boat, we were given some brief safety information by the Captain, Matt. We boarded approx. 5:00 pm.  It was a pretty windy evening, but Matt advised us that he would head back into a cove eventually if the wind persisted.  The bar opened as soon as the boat left the harbor (State law), and the service was prompt and efficient. About 30 minutes into the cruise, dinner was served. There was shrimp with cocktail sauce, strawberries, pineapple, Maui onion tarts (delicious), artichokes, chicken, and ribs. The ribs were delicious as well! Plenty of food for everyone! We eventually made out way into the cove that Matt mentioned, and the boat idled there to watch the sunset, which was PERFECT…what a night!  We took tons of photos. We met a lot of very nice people, and everyone seemed to be having a great time. There were couples as well as a few families with small children. The music was just great, and a few people were dancing…especially enjoyed the addition of the music. Overall, we are thrilled we booked this cruise! We thought it was a very good value for the experience! Kudos to the crew!

Laurie C., Collegeville, PA

Reviewed May 03, 2016

We did the sunset dinner cruise. It was fantastic. The food was all homemade and was actually pretty darn good for buffet style. The bar was open and all premium cocktails. The bartenders were all very friendly very and made excellent drinks. The boat was very clean with adequate space for all the people. We saw some amazing whales and the crew was very knowledgeable about the wildlife. What made the cruise truly outstanding though was the sense that the crew truly cared. They would routinely come around and talk to each of the guests individually and offer to answer any questions or just to get to know them. As I mentioned the bartenders were super friendly. At the food line there was even somebody answering questions about what each of the food items were. This small sense of caring truly made the trip exceptional. This was not a booze cruise. Nor was it a super romantic couples cruise. There were some couples of varying ages, and some families. Everyone was respectful, enjoying themselves and all getting along. Oh yes and the sunset was spectacular. For us it was perfect.

Mary S., Los Angeles, CA

Turtle
Reviewed Dec 10, 2016

My wife and I loved the dinner cruise. I didn’t expect the food to be that great but it was pretty darn good. The chicken, ribs, and artichoke dip were awesome. The 2 bartenders were super friendly and helped me decide what to get when I was unsure.
I’ve done dinner cruises before but never cared for any of them. This one changed my tune.

Scott H., Lincoln, CA

Reviewed Apr 12, 2016

This review is for the sunset cruise.

My husband and I had a wonderful time on the sunset cruise. The crew is very personable and friendly, and the food was delicious. I really enjoyed the chicken, while my husband preferred the ribs.

The view was amazing and although it was cold and a teeny bit rainy, it was still a wonderful experience. I was told that the upper deck is the best place to be if you get motion sickness (I do), and true to their word I didn’t feel nauseated at all. If that doesn’t help they have a wonderful ginger soda with fresh pieces of ginger in it available at their open bar.

I would undoubtedly recommend this activity to friends.

Beth K., Kahului, HI

Turtle

“My husband and I liked it a lot!”

Reviewed Jul 13, 2016

The sunset cocktail cruise was niiiice. We went out and the ocean was a little rough and it was kind of windy. Can’t control the weather so besides this, the food and drinks were awesome! I can’t complain about the open bar and the shrimp cocktail. The chicken was ono (delicious) and the atmosphere was relaxing and fun. The band played very nice music that could be danced to.

Mary Avile, Kahului, HI

“Highlight of our trip!”

Reviewed Aug 15, 2016

We had the pleasure of taking a private charter on the Leilani. Our trip included snorkeling at Molokini and Turtle Town. The trip was the highlight of our time on Maui. The crew were very knowledgeable and helpful throughout the afternoon. They provided us with not only a welcome breakfast but also a delicious lunch including items grilled right on the boat. The snorkeling was exceptional and Tanya and Noah even got in the water and helped us find turtles and take pictures of marine life hiding in the coral. 

I would definitely recommend the Pride of Maui to anyone visiting Maui and looking for a private charter. They offer public rides out to Molokini but for our group we enjoyed the private charter setting. Making arrangements with Annie online was very easy and everything turned out exactly as described. Five stars for sure!

Ashley Ursry, Westerville, OH

Reviewed Aug 03, 2015

Did the Leilani trip […] Captain CJ was very informative and entertaining.  All staff was friendly and approachable, did I mention there were mai tai’s and beer for the ride home??Tour included turtle town and molokini for snorkeling. Along the way we saw a ton of whales! While snorkeling we saw turtles, an octopus, eels, and a million fish!  Also bring cash, they offer wet suit rental (top only) I didn’t get one but hubby did and it is worth the money, I was regretting not getting it at the second site, I was getting chilly. Save yourself money if you pre book online you get ten bucks off. And one more thing, get there early due to limited parking, we got there at 7:20, but some people arrived right at 7:45 and couldn’t find a parking spot for 15 minutes at least!

Gerty W., El Cajon, CA

“Great family fun on private charter!”

Reviewed Jul 09, 2016

We spent my husband’s 50th birthday on a private charter and it was the highlight of our 10-day vacation in Maui! Our crew was TOP notch. Our captain, CJ and first mate Josh and Tori were awesome!

First they took us to two excellent snorkeling locations –away from the crowds! We saw so many fish and turtles. There was even a small shark hiding nearby that someone was able to take a video of with their Go Pro. Josh and Tori were great guides when we were out snorkeling, showing us where to go and pointing out sea life. They took care of everything for us and were super nice and friendly — it made our day really perfect! We were even late due to an oversight and they still made sure we had a plenty of time for snorkeling and enjoying the time together.

It definitely costs more to have a private charter but if you don’t mind the expense, this is a really nice way to have a boat to yourself and have a special day with your family or friends. We highly recommend this excursion!!

Michelle D., Glendale, AZ

“Leilani – Best Day on Maui”

Reviewed Jan 07, 2016

Great tour, great crew. Very knowledgeable, we were able to see lots of fish, turtles, etc. This was my families first time snorkeling, and the crew was very helpful, and made us feel comfortable. They were accommodating in helping my son who has very bad eye site. They had prescription goggles on board. Food was good. I was very happy about the small group. I watched another boat loading with 200+ people, and was very happy that our group was only 35. Highly recommend this tour.

Shane R, Farmington, UT

Reviewed Aug 19, 2015

This was our third snorkel trip with Pride of Maui and our second on The Leilani. We love going on Leilani because it’s a smaller boat and always a fun crew!! Our trip this year was blown out of Molokini but they took us to another spot that was good. You can’t fight Mother Nature!! This is a good time every time!! Thanks for the experience!!

Carol T., Yorba Linda, CA

Turtle